top of page

Michael Jones Selected for Scotland in 2019 World Cup qualifier

The Scotland squad that will be competing for one of two spots at the 2019 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Zimbabwe has today been announced.

Kyle Coetzer has been selected as captain and will lead the side against Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Zimbabwe, plus the final qualifier to be confirmed following World Cricket League Division 2 in February in Group B. The super six phase begins on the 15th March in Harare with the final of the competition set for 25th March.

Michael Jones and Tom Sole have both been selected after their maiden international tour to the UAE in January.

Hampshire duo Brad Wheal and Chris Sole will add pace to the attack and will be accompanied by Safyaan Sharif, Stuart Whittingham and Alasdair Evans who will form a five prong pace attack that is arguably the quickest Scotland has ever seen.

Scotland’s Head Coach Grant Bradburn added, “The challenge to qualify for the World Cup is tough for all teams, but we have selected an outstanding group who are confident and ready to take on that mission.

The squad have had an excellent preparation phase over the winter months in Dubai including quality game and planning time leading into Zimbabwe. The team are now very familiar with the style of cricket that suits our individuals, which is also a style we believe will win the World Cup qualifiers.

We welcome the new faces into the squad in Michael Jones and Tom Sole who have both adapted very quickly and shown their fantastic International qualities on the recent tour to Dubai.

Scotland Squad in full

Kyle Coetzer (captain), Richie Berrington (vice-captain), Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Calum MacLeod, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Tom Sole, Craig Wallace, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal, Stuart Whittingham.

Scotland Fixtures (warm-up matches)

Tuesday, 27 February – Scotland v PNG, Bulawayo Athletic Club (BAC) Thursday, 1 March –Scotland v Ireland, Queen’s Sports Club (QSC)

Tournament Proper (first round): Sunday, 4 March – Afghanistan v Scotland, (BAC) Tuesday, 6 March – Scotland v Hong Kong, (BAC) Thursday, 8 March – Scotland v WCL Div.2 (runners-up), (QSC) Monday, 12 March – Zimbabwe v Scotland, (BAC)

Super Six Phase (top 3 from each pool)

Thursday 15th March – Friday 23rd Final Sunday 24th March

Group A Ireland, West Indies, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Div 2 WCL Qualifier 1 Group B Scotland, Zimbabwe, Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Div 2 WCL Qualifier 2

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page