top of page


The Club held its 186th AGM on 24th March 2021. For the first time, this was held remotely by Zoom. The treasurer Matt Leigh provided an overview of the accounts and is to be thanked, once again, for all the work he does.

The main news of the evening related to a number of changes to Club office holders.

• After 10 years as President, Sandy Tittershill to become a Life Member of the Club and join Walter Armstrong and Peter Guy as a Club Trustee.

• After 18 years as Chairman, Tim Dickinson took Sandy's place as President at the invitation of the Committee.

• After 3 years as 1st XI Captain, Nicky Caunce stood down and was replaced by Gary Knight.

It was a shame that such significant changes could not be marked face to face and followed by a drink at the bar. With the President traditionally inviting those present for a drink at his expense, this was (hopefully) the cheapest round he will have to stand! Whilst it is hoped that the circumstances will allow for an end of season function when proper tribute can be paid, it is hard to underestimate the contribution Tim and Tricia have made to the Club’s development and success under his stewardship both on and off the pitch. From the refurbishment of the pavilion to the construction of the new build, Tim has been the driving force turning matters from an idea into a reality for the benefit of all members. Those are just two of the larger examples of what has been achieved. The list of other jobs that just get done – often before others have thought of them – is too long to try and list.

From the players’ perspective, the consensus is one of the ideal Chairman who struck the perfect balance between supporting the Captains and players without interfering. He never entered the dressing room. His presence was most usually felt when a jug of beer would be sent in to mark a successful day.

Another perfect balance that was struck was that between achieving success as a Club but not at all costs and whilst ensuring Ormskirk remained a local club. A mark of this can be seen when last year saw four Ormskirk players playing first class cricket on the same day. But it was not all about the 1st XI and the senior teams. He was also a regular spectator at Junior matches.

As for Nicky, he has brought an immense enthusiasm to his time in post. I cannot be the only one who received regular calls from Nicky as he made his way down the motorway on his way to some far flung hospital or clinic with a new idea on how the Club can be improved or how it can generate some much needed income. That enthusiasm showed in the way he played too and I am sure his experience will be missed.

As to other changes at the AGM, Scott Lees has taken on the role of Membership Secretary following the untimely passing of John Kitson, Kev Maher has become Bar Chair, Barry Hepke takes on House, Scott Meredith has become Junior Chair and Richard Brook has joined the Committee.

I would also like to mention two other past Captains – Jordan Budgen (3rd XI) and Jonny Glayzer (2nd XI) – both of whom stepped down last year after 4 years successful years. Under Jordan the 3rd XI won back to back League titles and the Mike Leddy Cup and Embee Trophy three times in a row. Under Jonny Glayzer the 2nd XI Captain won back to back League titles, 2 Chester Cups and the inaugural T20 Chrysalis Cup. The pandemic meant they did not receive the public acknowledgement their efforts – again both on and off the pitch – deserved.

At present all the plans are in place for a full season and we keep fingers crossed that circumstances do not conspire to cause any change to that. Although the season last year ended up bringing us more cricket than seemed likely nearer the start of the season, the return of League, Cup and National Knockout cricket with all the competition it brings will be welcome. We wish our three senior Captains – Gary Knight, Sam Hepke and Mike Lawrenson – every success as well as our junior teams and the managers who put in their time every week to make the teams work.

Bill Rankin


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page